Winners Emerge At 2019 WSIIJ Awards

In News 2019-12-10 13:13:14
Winners Emerge At 2019  WSIIJ Awards
Winners Emerge At 2019 WSIIJ Awards

By Olamie Fadoju


13 journalists, Amnesty International veteran photojournalists were honoured at the 2019 edition of the Wole Soyinka Awards for Investigative Reporting Award (WSAIR)


The awards which is in its 14th edition, organized by the Wole Soyinka Institute for Investigative Journalism (WSCIJ)  held on  Monday 9  December at NECA House, Ikeja Lagos.


Isine Ibanga from the online Next Edition newspaper was the night’s biggest winner taking home the award for the Investigative Journalist of the Year.



Ibanga’s two-part serial “How Bribe Taking Security Operatives/Gangs Force Nigerians to Pay Dearly for Food” also won the online category for the Wole Soyinka Award or Investigative reporting.


Other winners include Samson Folarin of The Punch who won the print category, Veteran Photographer Summi Smart-Cole and Amnesty International who won the Lifetime Award for Journalistic excellence and Anti-corruption Defender Award.



Chairman, 2019 Judges Board Dr Umaru Apate in his remarks said this year saw over a hundred entries from all over the country and admitted it was challenging to arrive at a winner.


He further advised journalists carry out better investigative work that will change the course of history.


Board Chair, Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism, Ropo Sekoni, in his remarks congratulated this year's finalists for risking their lives to investigate societal issues.


Wil answering questions suspend the presentation of an award to Vice president Yemi Osibanjo, he said the board took the decision and would not comment further on the issue.


Femi Falana (SAN), who presented a Lifetime Achievement Award to veteran photojournalist, Sunmi Smart Cole, seized the moment to congratulate all the winners, urging them not to rest on their oars.



The winners and runners-ups got cash prizes of N100,000 and N50,000 respectively, plus a certificate of commendation. In addition, winners got award plaques and will proceed on an all-expense-paid


Winners 2019 Wole Soyinka Awards for Investigative Reporting 


Albert Ohams – The Sun Newspaper Cartoon Editor (Award for commended works)
Mary Abayomi Fatile – FRCN (Award for commended works)
Bukola Samuel Wemimo – TVC (Award for commended works)
Sharon Ijasan – TVC (Award plus N50,000) (Runner up)

Oladimeji Ramon – Punch (Award for commended works)
Chinwe Agbeze – The Sun (Award plus N50,000) (Runner up)
Samson Folarin – Punch (Winner) (Award plus N100,000)



Ayodele Adeniran – Guardian Photojournalist (Award for commended works)
Saheed Olugbon – Punch Newspaper Photojournalist (Award for commended works)
Odutayo Odusanya – Punch (Award plus N50,000) (Runner up)
Damilola Banjo – Sahara Reporters (Award for commended works)
Chikezie Omeje – International Centre for Investigative Reporting (ICIR) ( Award plus N50,000) (Runner up)
Isine Ibanga – The Next Edition Newspaper (Winner) (Award plus N100,000)


Anti Corruption Defender Award (Honorary Award Recipients)

Osai Ojigho Amnesty International Nigeria (Human Rights Specialty)

Sunmi Smart-Cole Lifetime Award for Journalistic Excellence


Overall Winner

Isine Ibanga (N50,000 extra)