Senate Approves NDDC Board Nominations

In News 2019-11-05 11:44:14
Senate Approves  NDDC Board Nominations
Senate Approves NDDC Board Nominations

By Fidel Oseghale

Senate has approved the nomination of former Deputy Governor of Edo state, Pius Odubu, as Chairman and fourteen others as members of the Board of the Niger Delta Development Commission.


The Senate on Tuesday also approved the nomination of Bernard Okumagba, (Managing Director), Otobong Edem (Executive Director Projects) and Maxwell Okoh (Executive Director Finance).


But the nomination of Dr. Joy Nunieh as a member of the NDDC board representing Rivers State did not scale through because she did not honor the invitations sent to her by the Committee.


The confirmation followed the presentation and consideration of the report of the Committee on Niger Delta headed by Senator Peter Nwaoboshi.


Other members confirmed by the Committee include; Prophet Erue (Delta), Victor Ekhator (Edo), Nkechi Nwago (Abia), Theodore Allison (Bayelsa), Victor Antai (Akwa-Ibom) and Maurice Effiwatt ((Cross River).


The other five members are Olugbenga Edema (Ondo), Uchegbu Kyrian (Imo), Aisha Muritala Muhammed (North West Representative from Kano), Shuaibu Zubairu (North West Representative from Adamawa) and Abdullahi Bage (North Central Representative from Nasarawa).