Buhari Constitutes Economic Advisory Council

In News 2019-09-16 18:13:07
Buhari Constitutes Economic Advisory Council
Buhari Constitutes Economic Advisory Council

President Muhammadu Buhari has constituted an Economic Advisory Council (EAC) to replace the current Economic Management Team.


This was made public in a statement by Femi Adesina, the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity.


The EAC is to advise the President on policy matters, including fiscal analysis, economic growth and a range of internal and global economic issues working with the relevant cabinet members and heads of monetary and fiscal agencies.


The council is to be chaired by Professor Doyin Salami and has as its Vice-Chairman Mohammed Sagagi.


Other members of the council include Dr. Mohammed Adaya Salisu, Senior Special Assistant to the President on Development Policy who serves as the Secretary and Professor Ode Ojowu.


Dr. Shehu Yahaya and Dr. Iyabo Masha, as well as Prof. Chukwuma Soludo- former Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria- and Bismark Rewane, make up the rest of the eight-man council.


The Advisory Council is to hold monthly technical sessions as well as scheduled quarterly meetings with the President.