APC Leads in Bayelsa Election

In News 2019-11-17 16:37:05
APC Leads in Bayelsa Election
APC Leads in Bayelsa Election

By Ufuoma Egbamuno and Joshua Rogers


The All Progressives Congress (APC) took one step closer to clinching the governorship seat of Bayelsa State. Results from the latest local government area, Southern Ijaw, brightened the chances of the opposition party in the state. The APC got 124, 803 votes as opposed to just 4, 898 polled by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the local government.


Results from the initial 6 local government areas in the state also show the leading opposition party, the APC currently lead the incumbent ruling party, PDP.


The APC has now won 5 out of the 7 LGA’s released so far at the INEC collation centre in Yenegoa, Bayelsa State. The APC won in Southern Ijaw, Yenegoa, Ogbia, Nembe and Brass LGA’s while the PDP won in Sagbama and Kolokuma/Opukuma areas. 



Results from 17 units cancelled have been cancelled in Sagbama Local Government Area of Bayelsa states with over 7,000 votes affected.


The main opposition party, the All Progressives Congress (APC) has protested the result announced insisting that election did not take place in Sagbama. Also, the Accord party protested the results insisting that the cancelled units are its stronghold.


Here is a breakdown of results so far:

Southern Ijaw LGA

APC 124, 803
PDP  4,898


Yenagoa LGA

Professor A O Dokpesi of UNIBEN

APC 24, 607

PDP 19, 184


Ogbia LGA

Collation Officer: Victor Igbinedion from UNIBEN

APC 58, 016

PDP 13,763


Sagbama LGA

Collation Officer: Dr Moses from UNIBEN

APC 7, 831

PDP 60, 339

Accord 131

AAC 15


Kolokuma/Opukuma LGA

Collation Officer: Professor Elizabeth Omotunde, UNIBEN

APC 8,934

PDP 15,360


Nembe LGA

Collation Officer: Professor Joseph, UNIBEN

APC 83,041

PDP 874


Brass LGA

Collation Officer: Nkeki Charles of UNIBEN

APC 23,831

PDP 10,410