Akpeyi, Musa Return as Rohr Names Team for AFCON Qualifiers

In Sports 2019-10-30 20:01:34
Akpeyi, Musa Return as Rohr Names Team for AFCON Qualifiers
Akpeyi, Musa Return as Rohr Names Team for AFCON Qualifiers

By Ufuoma Egbamuno


South Africa based goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi and Super Eagles captain Ahmed Musa have been recalled to Nigeria’s Super Eagles for next month’s Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifying matches against Benin Republic and Lesotho.


Musa is back after missing out of the team’s last game due to injury while Akpeyi is making a return to the team for the first time since the 2019 AFCON. Granada midfielder Ramon Azeez is also part of coach Gernot Rohr’s set up after seeing action in the 1-1 draw with five –time world champions Brazil in Singapore


However, Stoke City midfielder Oghenekaro Etebo is only fit enough to be on the standby list as well as Brighton’s Leon Balogun.


Nigeria begin the quest for a place in Cameroon 2021 against the Squirrels of Benin Republic (who also featured in Egypt) to the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo on Wednesday, 13th November, before flying to Maseru to play Lesotho’s Crocodiles on Sunday, 17th November, on Day Two of the qualifying series.  




Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)


Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia)


Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)


Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge, Belgium); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France);


Standby: Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Prague, Czech Republic); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England)